The Moment of Truth

On Tuesday 9th May 2017, I snuck off to the bathroom while my mum and partner were watching television downstairs. Heart pounding, I ripped open the clear blue digital pregnancy test as quick as I could and began the less than glamorous process of peeing on a stick. Replacing the lid, I lay the test flat on the floor. Three minutes felt like a lifetime as I tried not to stare at the little flashing hourglass that showed it was working.

I checked the time on my phone. Three minutes had passed. This was the moment of truth. With a deep breath, I slowing looked down expecting another disappointing negative that I had become all too familiar with over the previous weeks, even when I was certain I had a bun in the oven.

My heart almost exploded through my chest when I looked at the tiny screen and saw a big fat POSITIVE. My whole body shook as I tried to process what I was seeing. After only a month of trying to conceive and feeling symptoms but only getting negatives, I was pregnant!

My hands shook as I took a snap of the test and sent it to my partner. In 0.2 seconds he had flown up the stairs and there was a knock on the bathroom door. I ran out and jumped in his arms. We both beamed with happiness as we looked into each others’ eyes. This is what we had been waiting for. We were going to have a baby! Now we needed to tell my mum, who still sat downstairs, blissfully unaware of the life-changing news we had to share.

We walked into the living room grinning like Cheshire cats. Wanting my stepdad included in the ‘big reveal’, we told my mum to go upstairs and wake him up, as he had gone to bed early that night. The confusion on her face had me and my partner in fits of giggles as we tried to explain that there was something important we needed to tell them both.

With a slight laugh, she said, “You’re not pregnant, are you?”

Her eyes almost popped out of their sockets as she stared at us when we both nodded enthusiastically. Let’s just say, she was slightly shocked!

It didn’t come as a surprise that she thought it was too soon into our relationship to have a baby. Although we had only been officially together for a few months, we knew straight away that we were meant to be together. We had discussed kids and marriage and we wanted exactly the same thing from the future and we knew we wanted it with each other, so why wait?

I am, by no means, encouraging people to get pregnant that early into a relationship but I do believe the saying, ‘when you know, you know’ because we absolutely knew from the first kiss. However, I do advise making sure you know the person you are planning this big step with because there is no going back once you take the leap and you don’t want to find out a little ways down the road that you don’t really like the father/mother of your child as much as you thought.

After the initial shock wore off, although she was still a bit panicky, my mum started to warm up to the idea that she was going to be a nanny again. She tried waking my stepdad up but to no avail so after talking about future plans for a good 2 hours, me and my partner left to head back to his house. We got half way when we got a text from my mum saying: Guess what! He’s only gone and woke up now you’ve left!

I immediately did a u-turn and headed back home. We had both agreed on the people we wanted to tell first and my stepdad was one of the top people on the list so we just couldn’t wait. Walking through the front door and into the living room, we sat down in front of my slightly dazed, sleepy stepdad. Pulling the positive test out of my pocket, I held it up so he could see. It took his half-asleep mind a few seconds to process what he was seeing. Then suddenly he had me in his arms, tears filling his eyes and happiness in his voice as he congratulated both of us. Now this was the reaction I was waiting for!

After many cuddles and happy tears, we finally left for my partner’s house. Once through the door, it finally sank in and we both couldn’t stop smiling. I kept saying, “We are having a baby!” over and over as if I needed to convince myself it was real. I couldn’t believe it had happened so quick after we agreed to try to conceive and I almost pinched myself to check if I was dreaming. But, no, it definitely was reality and we were definitely going to be parents in the next 9 months.

Just before we went to sleep that night, my partner moved down and kissed my tummy where our unborn baby grew and I knew, 100%, that I had made the best decision. I was truly and completely happy as I drifted off to dreams of a little baby with light-brown hair and sparkly-grey eyes.

 

How did you find out you were expecting? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “The Moment of Truth

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

